New beginnings

image311
My former companion in Dillon, along with Megan and Leonard, baptized 12/31

There wasn’t a lot to be said about this week.  As for Megan and Leonard, my old investigators in Dillon, they are well. They were baptized on Saturday. And on the first day of the New Year, they became the newest members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. What better way to begin a new year with a new life? New beginnings.

Although I did not have the amazing opportunity of being baptized with the new year, I did however the great blessing of receiving that same ordinance as the sacrament. I cannot tell you how much church meant to me yesterday. Sacrament was unbelievably special. And it made it even better that it was fast Sunday. I truly was on a spiritual high! I felt fantastic. In a very real way, I saw and felt the Lord fulfill His promise to me to “Bear [me] up”. And that’s an understatement.

I’m so grateful that my “Golden Year” has begun. The Atonement is so real! And if we just latch onto it, oh my goodness… God is so good to us. I got to bear my testimony yesterday about how grateful I was for Him and the sacrament and what He’s done for me. Um… I feel kind of bad. I don’t know how to explain my feelings over an email. I felt so amazing this weekend. I wish all of you could feel that same thing.

In sacrament meeting I felt pretty awkward. I was just praying and crying the whole time. And had nothing to wipe my eyes with. Awkward right…? Oh well. It was amazing. If I wasn’t bowling right now I might be able to express my feelings better…. oh well. Regardless, what I felt was real. I love this Gospel so much.

I got a haircut. It’s cold. That’s my week. Any questions?

I love you all so much. Thank you for everything you have each taught me. Big lessons or small. It has made me into the person I am now. And is a key factor in helping me become the man and missionary that I am trying to be. However, there is no greater teacher in my life than the God that I am serving. I am indebted to Him. I love Him.

I encourage you to use this New Year as a New Beginning. Where you can find Him. And get to know Him. He will change your life. Find Him, and you will find yourself.

Elder Madsen

Leave a Reply

