Breaking News! Elder M is back in the Motherland of Montana! Bozeman edition

image4-26
Me and Elder Smith, Gillette companion

 

That’s right folks I made it to Bozeman! I miss Gillette and everyone there. But I’m happy to be here. There’s some good work to be done. So my new companion’s name is Elder Adam Muhlestein from Tricity, WA and has been out for 17 mos and it’s his 21st birthday on St pattys day πŸ™‚ haha so that’s cool. We’ll have to do something fun. Um. Let’s see. He is fantastic at the piano and organ (has played in both the conference center and the tabernacle – oh my heck. I would’ve died!) but yeah. We are going to do great work here and we are going to get along just fine πŸ™‚

Church went fantastically! Our ward is the designated Spanish branch and we have Spanish investigators so we went to Spanish gospel principles and it was really quite fun and amazing*

My apartment is on the third floor 😫 (but hey, extra exercise time πŸ‘πŸ») and it’s a decent apartment. But I do miss my apartment in Gillette…. And my bed that came with it. Holy cow. Who would have guessed one could miss a bed so much? My bed here is… alright. Quite creaky πŸ˜‰ But oh well! Beds will be beds. And it’s not that bad as soon as I get comfortable πŸ˜‰ our apartment has wifi which is nice. But the wifi is suuuuuuuuuuper slow. Oh well. In all, I am happy to be here πŸ™‚

Carlos is our most promising investigator and comes to church with his girlfriend/wife. We are meeting with him tomorrow night. I told Elder M that we were gonna baptize at least Him this transfer πŸ™‚ so let’s go make it happen!

Um let’s see. I think that’s pretty much it. Any questions? Stay thirsty my friends πŸ˜‰ (John 4:13)

It’s gonna take work
— Elder Harrison Madsen
*So when I was in Gillette I had the great idea of learning Bulgarian on my mission, thanks to the new schedule I can do that, because how cool would it be if I could come home and speak to my dad is his mission language? I just think that would be so cool. And so I decided to do just that. I decided I was going to learn Bulgarian! But there is a problem with that idea. None of our language apps have Bulgarian as an option. None. Dang it.

So I decided to attempt to relearn Spanish again. I decided Spanish was the best option because I already had somewhat of a background in Spanish (not really but I had taken two Spanish classes before). So I downloaded the Spanish apps and began studying from them in my spare time. And Lo and behold. I get transfer calls that I am going to Bozeman. And when I get here I find out that our ward is also the designated Spanish branch and our progressing investigator is Hispanic. The Lord works in mysterious ways. I think perhaps He was directing me to begin relearning Spanish in order to help this branch as much as I can and to help Carlos.

So yeah. I’ve been studying Spanish again and I hope that I a) stay here in Bozeman long enough that it will matter and b) become fluent by the time I go home. And maybe even c) tell president Wadsworth that I am willing to go Spanish speaking if he would like me to.

 

 

image1-33
Montana looks a ton prettier than Wyoming… btw. Just in case anyone was wondering

image3-34image4-27

image2-38
Lunch outside, cuz it was warm
One thought on “Breaking News! Elder M is back in the Motherland of Montana! Bozeman edition

  1. Glad to hear you have a chance to relearn a language. I personally think Spanish would be far more practical than Bulgarian for the future, but it was a real thoughtful idea to share with your Dad. Keep up the good work, stay diligent and faithful and you’d be surprised how the Lord continues to work in mysterious ways. Keep the stories coming. Love Aunt Linda

    Like

Leave a Reply

