Armed with the Lord’s power

image5
This is an accurate depiction of our companionship 🙂

Well, there’s not very much to report on about the week (seeing as how I just barely gave a report 4 days ago. But there are a few highlights that I should touch on.

#1. Our neighbor, Taniya. It’s been really hard for the last few months to talk to her. But she has talked to us several times about coming closer to Heavenly Father. Well, we don’t know what changed, but she’s gotten a lot more serious about meeting with us and we set her on date for baptism on the 29th of July!! She is now trying to commit to live the Word of Wisdom so please pray for her.

#2. Transfers are next week. I’m sure I’m going but I also have a thought that I might stay. Oh well. We’ll find out on Sunday.  [update: Elder Madsen heading to Sheridan, WY]

#3. The Temple!! I got to go to the temple today and it was such a glorious experience. I have missed it so much. President and Sister Hetherington (he is in the Stake presidency) are in our ward and he invited us to go with them. We were actually able to do quite a lot in the time we were there. Elder Darner and I got to witness for some sealings that took place and then we did some initiatories for some family names that I had and then made it just in time for the noon session. Shout out to all the temple workers that were there and helped us with everything. I also got to see the Allens from Gillette there. Man I miss them. It was so good to see them!

That’s about it for my week. Well I guess it was Independence Day also. Fireworks were loud but I still slept quite well. It was supposed to be a really good finding day but we were finding that no one was home. Oh well. I know my family had a good time 🙂 so, Happy America Day! Or Happy Treason Day…. ungrateful colonials (Shout out to my best friend, Charly 😂😂)

In light of the 4th we have shared this message with a lot of people:
“11 And now it came to pass that when Moroni, who was the chief commander of the armies of the Nephites, had heard of these dissensions, he was angry with Amalickiah.
12 And it came to pass that he rent his coat; and he took a piece thereof, and wrote upon it–In memory of our God, our religion, and freedom, and our peace, our wives, and our children–and he fastened it upon the end of a pole.
13 And he fastened on his head-plate, and his breastplate, and his shields, and girded on his armor about his loins; and he took the pole, which had on the end thereof his rent coat, (and he called it the title of liberty) and he bowed himself to the earth, and he prayed mightily unto his God for the blessings of liberty to rest upon his brethren, so long as there should a band of Christians remain to possess the land–“

I really appreciate Moroni and his courage and his love of freedom and hatred of war. I think there are a lot of parallels between this story and the beginning of our own country. And while we, individually, may not be at war physically, we are spiritually. And so in order to preserve our spiritual freedoms, I encourage each of you, along with your regular scripture study and prayers and temple attendance, to read The Family: A Proclamation to the World with your family. As we do so we will be armed with the Lord’s power. We will be able to keep our covenant to take upon us His name. His glory will be round about us. And His angels with have charge over us. With His love surrounding us constantly we will not and cannot fall. Why would anybody want anything less?

I learned a lot in the temple today. My family and friends, brothers and sisters, if you do not have temple recommend, please obtain one. If you have one, use it. If you have had one and lost it, make the necessary steps to obtain it again. The temple is the House of the Lord. That truth was magnified to me today. The spirit I felt there was something that was real. And I would love for all of you to feel that same spirit.

I love you. And thank you for your goodness to me and your prayers and love and support. Thank you. I love you. And likewise, pray for you. I apologize that I do not have time to write to each of you individually, or even at times am unable to respond! But please know that I appreciate your efforts to reach out to me. I hope you have a great week 🙂 take care.

It’s gonna take work,
— Elder Harrison Madsen

Leave a Reply

